Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A person using a laptop showing an online account screen

Compare

EcoTank vs HP Instant Ink

The real comparison is not between two printers. It is between owning your supplies and renting them, and the answer turns on how steady your printing is.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for ecotank vs hp instant ink, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for ecotank vs hp instant ink, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800About 0.4¢ mono and 1.1¢ color, and a quiet month costs nothing
The ownership answer~0.4¢
2
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono, 0.8¢ color
The cheapest ownership answer~0.3¢
3
A modern printer on a minimalist office desk
Brother HL-L2460DWCheaper to buy, and no plan, and nothing to dry out
If your printing is genuinely light~3.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Is an EcoTank cheaper than HP Instant Ink?

For most households, yes, and the reason is structural rather than arithmetic: a subscription bills for a page allowance whether you print or not, while bottles cost you nothing in a month you do not print. An EcoTank color page costs about 1.1 of a cent, and there is no monthly charge at all.

We cannot tell you which is cheaper in dollars, because we do not publish HP’s plan prices — they change, they vary by region and tier, and a stale figure would be worse than none. What we can do is compare the two models honestly, which turns out to be the more useful comparison anyway.

How we approached this, and what we left out

Deliberately without HP’s plan pricing. Subscription tiers and page allowances change, and publishing a specific monthly figure we read once would be exactly the kind of stale number this site refuses to print. Check HP’s current tiers yourself; the comparison below works whatever they are.

What we can state precisely is our side: bottle prices and rated yields from the manufacturers’ own pages, with dates. And what we can state structurally is how a page allowance behaves, which is the part that actually decides this.

The structural difference

Owning supplies versus renting them
Buying bottlesA page-allowance plan
A month you print nothingCosts nothingYou pay the monthly charge
A month you print doubleCosts double, in fractions of a centYou exceed the allowance and pay extra
Cost per page~0.4¢ mono, ~1.1¢ colorThe monthly fee divided by pages you actually printed
If you cancelYou keep the ink you boughtPlan cartridges can stop working
Color versus blackColor costs more, but both are fractions of a centUsually counted the same — a color page and a black page both use one allowance page
Up-front costHigher printer price, ink includedLower printer price

Our cost figures are arithmetic on prices read 27 September 2026. We do not publish plan prices because they change — check HP’s current tiers directly.

Look at the first two rows together. A plan is a good deal when your printing is steady and close to the allowance, and a poor one when it is lumpy — which describes most households, whose printing has school terms, tax seasons and holidays in it.

Where a plan genuinely wins

Two cases, and they are real:

  • Steady, color-heavy printing at a predictable volume. Because plans usually count a full-color page as one allowance page, exactly as they count a page of black text. If most of what you print is color, that accounting is genuinely in your favor compared with buying cartridges.
  • You cannot or will not spend more up front. A plan lowers the entry cost of printing, and that is a legitimate thing to want.

Note that the first advantage is against cartridges. Against bottle-fed ink at 1.1 of a cent a color page, a plan has a much harder argument to make.

The part to understand before you sign up

Plan cartridges generally belong to the service rather than to you, which means they can stop working when the plan ends. This is the single most-searched complaint in this whole category, and it is why a printer that will not print after canceling has its own page on this site.

Practically: if you are on a plan and considering leaving, buy retail cartridges before you cancel, not after. The full cancellation guide.

The honest summary

If your printing is steady and heavily color, run HP’s current numbers against a tank printer’s in the calculator before dismissing the plan. For everyone else — lumpy printing, seasonal printing, light printing, or simply a preference for owning what you paid for — buying bottles wins on cost and on not having a monthly line item.

And if your printing is light and black-only, the answer is neither: buy an inexpensive mono laser.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Brother HL-L2460DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesNo$180
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

The ownership answer

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Buy the supplies and a quiet month costs you zero. That is the structural difference with a plan, and for most households it is the one that matters more than the per-page figure.

About 0.4 of a cent a black page and 1.1 of a cent in color, with bottles in the box that last most households a long time.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

The cheapest ownership answer

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

If the point is to minimize what you pay for supplies, this is the lowest figure we found — and, like every tank printer, it charges you nothing at all in a month you do not print.

No document feeder and no confirmed duplexer, so check the specification against what you need.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

If your printing is genuinely light

Brother HL-L2460DW

If you print black text and nothing else, this is the printer to buy. It cannot dry out, it duplexes, and Brother does not block third-party toner.

A modern printer on a minimalist office desk

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~3.3¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages at $98.29, priced on 27 September 2026.

  • Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge — rated 3,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $98.29 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$179.99 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 36 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Dual-band wireless (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz), Ethernet or USB
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Toner does not dry out, so it is ideal if you print in occasional bursts
  • Automatic two-sided printing at 36 pages per minute
  • Brother has publicly denied blocking third-party toner with firmware

What you give up

  • Black only - no color at all
  • Cost per page is roughly ten times a tank printer's
  • The 700-page starter cartridge runs out fast; budget for a TN830XL

Worth stating, because people on the smallest plans are often printing very little indeed. At genuinely low volumes a cheap mono laser beats both a plan and a tank printer on total cost, and it is the most reliable of the three.

No color. If the plan exists because a household prints color, this is not the answer.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Brother HL-L2460DW →

Questions people actually ask

Is an EcoTank cheaper than HP Instant Ink?

For most households yes, and the reason is structural: a plan bills for a page allowance whether you print or not, while bottles cost nothing in a month you do not print. An EcoTank color page is about 1.1 of a cent with no monthly charge.

Why do you not publish HP Instant Ink prices?

Because plan tiers and allowances change, and a figure we read once would go stale. The comparison on this page is structural rather than numeric, so it holds whatever HP’s current pricing is — check it directly.

Can I keep printing if I cancel Instant Ink?

The printer keeps working; the plan cartridges may not, because they belong to the service. Buy retail cartridges before you cancel, not after. Why this happens.

When is a printer subscription actually a good deal?

When your printing is steady, predictable and heavily in color, because plans typically count a color page the same as a black one. Against bottle-fed ink at a fraction of a cent a page, even that case is a harder argument than it is against cartridges.

Is Instant Ink the same as Dynamic Security?

No, and they are independent. Instant Ink is a subscription; Dynamic Security is cartridge authentication that exists on printers with no plan attached at all. You can encounter either without the other.

Sources