Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A notepad with a question mark drawn on it

Guides

Do HP printers require a subscription?

No. No HP printer needs a plan in order to print. The confusion is real though, and it comes from two separate things that get conflated.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for do hp printers require a subscription?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for do hp printers require a subscription?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Bottle-fed, no plan, no chip, about 0.4¢ a page
If you would rather not deal with any of it~0.4¢
2
A modern printer on a minimalist office desk
Brother HL-L2460DWA mono laser with nothing to subscribe to and nothing to dry out
The simplest possible answer~3.3¢
3
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono, bottle-fed
Cheapest running cost with no plan~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Do HP printers require a subscription?

No. No HP printer requires a subscription in order to print. Instant Ink is an optional supply service that HP markets heavily at purchase and during setup. Every HP printer works normally with cartridges or ink bottles bought outright from any retailer.

That is the answer, and it is unambiguous. The reason so many people believe otherwise is worth explaining, because two genuinely separate things get compressed into one worry.

Why the confusion exists

1. The setup flow pushes it hard

Enrolling in a supply plan is presented prominently during first-time setup, often with a free trial or a discounted period. The option to decline is there, but the design of the flow does not encourage it, and a lot of people come away believing the plan was required rather than offered.

2. Cartridge authentication is a different thing that looks similar

HP’s Dynamic Security checks cartridges for an authorized HP chip on affected models, and firmware updates have disabled previously-working third-party cartridges — PCWorld has documented both the mechanism and a workaround for a specific list of models.

That has nothing to do with subscriptions. It exists on printers with no plan attached at all. But somebody whose cartridge was refused will reasonably describe the experience as “the printer made me pay HP”, and the two mechanisms merge in the retelling.

3. Plan cartridges stop working when a plan ends

The third source of the impression, and the most understandable one. Plan cartridges belong to the service, so canceling can leave a printer that will not print — which feels exactly like a printer that required a subscription.

It is not the same thing: retail cartridges will work in that printer perfectly well. But somebody standing in front of a machine refusing to print an hour after canceling is not going to draw the distinction, and it is why that specific problem has its own page here.

How to buy an HP printer without a plan

  1. Decline the plan during setup. The option is there. Read the screen rather than clicking through.
  2. Buy retail cartridges or bottles yourself from any retailer.
  3. Turn off automatic firmware updates if you intend to use third-party cartridges, because that is where authentication behavior has historically changed.
  4. Consider a bottle-fed model. HP’s Smart Tank range refills from bottles, so there is no cartridge and no chip — Dynamic Security is a cartridge mechanism and does not apply to it.

We could not read a confirmed bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so we publish no cost per page for Smart Tank anywhere on this site. The structural point stands regardless.

And other brands?

The same answer: no printer from any manufacturer requires a subscription to print. Epson sells ReadyPrint for its cartridge printers; Brother sells a toner subscription. Both are optional, both are pitched at setup, and both printers work entirely normally without them.

HP attracts the question because it marketed its plan hardest and earliest, and because Dynamic Security gave people a second, separate grievance that reinforced the first.

If you have decided you want out entirely

The reliable answer is a printer with no cartridge in it at all. A refillable tank printer has no chip to authenticate and no plan to decline, so both mechanisms described on this page become irrelevant rather than managed.

Start with printers without a subscription, or the alternatives guide if you are leaving a plan you already have.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Brother HL-L2460DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesNo$180
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
HP Smart Tank 7001Ink bottlesn/anot publishedNot statedNonot published

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

If you would rather not deal with any of it

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Plenty of people arrive at this question having decided they want out of the whole arrangement rather than an explanation of it. This is the printer that removes both concerns: no plan to decline, and no cartridge chip to be authenticated.

About 0.4 of a cent a black page and 1.1 of a cent in color, with bottles in the box.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

The simplest possible answer

Brother HL-L2460DW

If you print black text and nothing else, this is the printer to buy. It cannot dry out, it duplexes, and Brother does not block third-party toner.

A modern printer on a minimalist office desk

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~3.3¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages at $98.29, priced on 27 September 2026.

  • Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge — rated 3,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $98.29 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$179.99 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 36 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Dual-band wireless (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz), Ethernet or USB
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Toner does not dry out, so it is ideal if you print in occasional bursts
  • Automatic two-sided printing at 36 pages per minute
  • Brother has publicly denied blocking third-party toner with firmware

What you give up

  • Black only - no color at all
  • Cost per page is roughly ten times a tank printer's
  • The 700-page starter cartridge runs out fast; budget for a TN830XL

If your printing is black text, this removes every question on this page at once. Cartridges bought outright, no plan pitched at setup, and about 3.3 cents a page.

Brother does offer an optional toner subscription. Declining it during setup is the whole of the interaction.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Brother HL-L2460DW →

Cheapest running cost with no plan

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

The lowest cost per page we found, filled from bottles, with no subscription of any kind and no cartridge chip in the supply chain.

No document feeder and no confirmed duplexer, so check the specification against what you need.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Questions people actually ask

Do HP printers require a subscription?

No. Instant Ink is an optional supply service, marketed heavily at purchase and during setup. Every HP printer prints normally with cartridges or bottles bought outright from any retailer.

Can I use an HP printer without Instant Ink?

Yes. Decline the plan during setup and buy retail supplies. If you are already enrolled, canceling leaves the printer working — though plan cartridges will stop, so buy retail ones first.

Is Dynamic Security the same as a subscription?

No. Dynamic Security is cartridge authentication that checks for an authorized HP chip, and it exists on printers with no plan attached. It does not bill you and it is unaffected by canceling a subscription.

Do Epson and Brother printers require subscriptions?

No. Both sell optional supply subscriptions and neither requires one. HP attracts the question mainly because it marketed its plan hardest and because Dynamic Security gave people a separate but similar-sounding grievance.

Which HP printers avoid the cartridge chip issue?

The Smart Tank range, because it refills from bottles rather than cartridges — and a bottle has no chip to authenticate. We could not confirm a bottle price from HP when we checked, so we publish no cost per page for those models.

Sources