Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A person operating a multifunction printer and copier in an office

No Subscription

Best all-in-one printers without a subscription

Every machine here prints, scans and copies without a plan, an account or a page allowance - ranked by what it costs you per page rather than what it costs on the shelf.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for best all-in-one printers without a subscription, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for best all-in-one printers without a subscription, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Color, scanning and copying at about 0.4¢ a black page
Best overall~0.4¢
2
An office worker copying documents at a multifunction printer
Brother DCP-L2640DW50-page feeder, auto duplex, and toner that cannot dry out
Best for paperwork~3.3¢
3
A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it
Epson EcoTank ET-4800Document feeder and Ethernet at EcoTank running costs
Best for a home office on tank ink~0.4¢
4
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono and 0.8¢ color, the cheapest here
Lowest cost per page~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

An all-in-one is the default home printer because most households need to scan something occasionally. The question this page answers is which ones do that without a supply plan attached — and, more usefully, which of them will not quietly cost you more than the printer did.

How we picked

Scanning was the gate. A machine only appears here if it prints, scans and copies, which rules out the print-only models we recommend elsewhere. Within that set we ranked on cost per page first, then on whether the scanning hardware is any good — a flatbed and a fifty-page document feeder are very different propositions and the price difference between them is small.

We also checked each one for a duplexer, because on an all-in-one the documents being printed are usually multi-page, and reported honestly where a manufacturer’s specification page did not state it rather than assuming either way.

What these actually cost to run

The spread on this page is roughly twenty-fold, and none of it is visible on a box. Every figure below is our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026.

Cost per black page, and where each figure comes from
PrinterSupplyRated yieldPrice we readPer page
Canon MegaTank G3270Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle6,000 pages$17.99~0.3¢
Epson EcoTank ET-2800 / ET-4800Epson 522 black ink bottle4,500 pages$17.99~0.4¢
Brother DCP-L2640DWBrother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge3,000 pages$98.29~3.3¢

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard, so your real cost will be higher. Prices are not live — these are figures we read on the date shown, not current prices. The method in full · run it on your own printing.

How to choose between them

Do you print color?

If yes, buy a tank printer. Cartridge color is expensive and color laser toner is worse — published figures put color laser at between 12 and 15 cents a page, according to Toner Buzz. A bottle-fed color page here costs well under two cents.

Do you scan stacks or single sheets?

Stacks mean a document feeder, which narrows the field to the Brother and the ET-4800. Single sheets mean a flatbed is fine and you can save the money.

How often do you print?

This is the one that overrides the others. Below roughly twenty to forty pages a month, the Brother wins on total cost despite its higher cost per page, and it is the only machine here that genuinely does not mind being ignored. Above that, the tank printers pull away fast.

What “no subscription” does not protect you from

Buying without a plan removes the monthly charge. It does not guarantee you can use any supply you like — that is a separate mechanism living in the cartridge chip. The bottle-fed machines on this page sidestep it entirely because there is no chip in a bottle. If supply freedom is the actual goal, read which printers accept third-party ink before you choose.

Who should skip all of these

Anyone who does not need to scan. An all-in-one costs more and takes more desk space than a print-only machine, and if you have a phone you already have a usable document scanner for the two pages a year you send to somebody. In that case buy the print-only Brother or an ET-2400 and spend the difference on paper.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Brother DCP-L2640DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesYes$210
Epson EcoTank ET-4800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢Not statedYesnot published
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Best overall

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

For most households asking this question, the ET-2800 is the answer and has been for a while. It prints, scans and copies in color from refillable bottles, and at roughly 0.4 of a cent a black page the ink stops being something you think about.

The one thing to be clear-eyed about is the absence of an automatic duplexer. On a printer this cheap to feed, paper genuinely costs more than ink, so a machine that halves your paper use is saving you more than a cheaper bottle would. If you print long documents, look at the ET-2850 instead.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Best for paperwork

Brother DCP-L2640DW

The HL-L2460DW with a scanner and a 50-page feeder on top. For most home offices that need to scan, this is the sensible mono laser.

An office worker copying documents at a multifunction printer

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~3.3¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages at $98.29, priced on 27 September 2026.

  • Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge — rated 3,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $98.29 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$209.99 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 36 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
50-page automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Ethernet and dual-band wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • 50-page document feeder, so scanning a stack is one action
  • Auto duplex printing at 36 pages per minute
  • Same TN830 toner family as the HL-L2460DW, with the same cost per page

What you give up

  • Mono only
  • Thirty dollars more than the print-only model for hardware you may not need
  • Toner is far dearer per page than bottle ink

If your all-in-one exists to handle paperwork — invoices, contracts, forms, the tax return — this is the better machine despite costing about 3.3 cents a page against the ET-2800’s 0.4 of a cent.

The fifty-page document feeder turns scanning a stack from a chore into one action. It duplexes at thirty-six pages a minute. And because toner is a dry powder, a quiet month costs you nothing at all. For black-text work at moderate volume that combination beats the cheaper cost per page.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Brother DCP-L2640DW →

Best for a home office on tank ink

Epson EcoTank ET-4800

The ET-2800's running cost with the office hardware bolted on: a document feeder, wired Ethernet and fax. Worth it only if you actually need one of those three.

A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
Not published where we checked on 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
Automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Wireless and Ethernet
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Same 522 ink and therefore the same cost per page as the cheaper EcoTanks
  • Automatic document feeder for multi-page scanning and copying
  • Wired Ethernet, which is more reliable than Wi-Fi for a shared printer

What you give up

  • Epson did not publish a list price on its product page when we checked
  • You pay for the feeder and the fax whether or not you use them
  • Still an inkjet, so it wants occasional use

The ET-4800 is the compromise candidate: the document feeder and wired Ethernet of an office machine, on exactly the same 522 ink as the ET-2800, so the cost per page is identical.

Epson did not publish a list price on the page we read, which is the main reason it sits third rather than higher — we cannot tell you what it costs, only what it costs to run. If you want a feeder and cheap color in one machine, it is the obvious shape of the answer.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-4800 →

Lowest cost per page

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

The G3270 prints, scans and copies and it is the cheapest machine on this page to run, in both mono and color. Its pigment black also resists smudging better than a dye black, which matters if your prints get handled.

It sits fourth rather than first because Canon’s specification page did not state automatic two-sided printing and there is no document feeder, so as an all-in-one specifically it is less capable than the machines above it. As a cheap color printer that also scans, it is excellent.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Questions people actually ask

What is the best all in one printer without a subscription?

The Epson EcoTank ET-2800 for most households: it prints, scans and copies in color from refillable bottles at roughly 0.4 of a cent a black page, with no plan of any kind. If your printing is mostly black text and paperwork, the Brother DCP-L2640DW is the better machine despite costing more per page.

Do all-in-one printers need a subscription to scan?

No. Scanning and copying never require a supply plan on any printer we cover. Some manufacturers gate mobile or cloud features behind an account, but the scanner works over USB or a local network regardless.

Is an all-in-one worth it over a print-only printer?

Only if you actually scan. An all-in-one costs more and is bigger, and a phone camera handles the occasional document. If you scan multi-page documents regularly, a real feeder is transformative and worth the money.

Which of these has automatic two-sided printing?

The Brother DCP-L2640DW lists automatic duplex printing. Epson’s specification pages for the ET-2800 did not list it, and did not state it either way for the ET-4800, so we do not claim it for them. If duplexing matters, the Epson ET-2850 or ET-3850 list it explicitly.

Can I use cheaper third-party ink in these?

In the bottle-fed models, physically yes — there is no chip to authenticate. We do not publish cost-per-page figures based on third-party ink because its yields are not rated to the ISO standard. On cartridge printers it depends on the model and can change with a firmware update.

Sources