Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home

Ink Tank

Best ink tank printers with auto duplex

Automatic two-sided printing is the one feature the entry-level tank printers leave out, and it is the feature that halves the only running cost their ink does not already solve.

By Ryder M. · Published September 29, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for best ink tank printers with auto duplex, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for best ink tank printers with auto duplex, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home
Epson EcoTank ET-2850$349.99, auto duplex, and the cheaper 502 ink at ~0.3¢
Best auto duplex tank printer overall~0.3¢
2
A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it
Epson EcoTank ET-4950$499.99, duplex plus an ADF, Ethernet and AirPrint
Auto duplex with a document feeder~0.3¢
3
Printed photographs stacked on a notebook on a white desk
Epson EcoTank Photo ET-8550$749.99, duplex, six-color 552 ink up to 13 by 19 inches
Auto duplex on a photo printer~0.4¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Tank printers exist to make ink stop mattering, and they succeed: at a fraction of a cent a page, the ink is no longer the expense. Paper then is, and automatic two-sided printing is the only feature on the specification sheet that halves it.

How we picked

We only listed a printer here if the manufacturer publishes automatic two-sided printing on its own product page for that model. Where a specification page did not state it, we have recorded that as not stated rather than assuming a duplexer exists, which is why the comparison table below has a “not stated” entry rather than a guess.

Beyond that we ranked on ink family, because that is what decides the cost per page, and then on the hardware you get for the difference in price.

Why duplex matters more on a tank printer

On a cartridge printer, paper is a rounding error next to ink. On a tank printer the relationship inverts. A black page of 502 ink costs about 0.3 of a cent. A sheet of plain letter paper costs somewhere around a cent. The paper is now the larger number, by a factor of three or more.

That is the whole argument for a duplexer on this kind of printer, and it is almost never made, because the people writing about duplexers are usually thinking about cartridge machines where the ink still dominates.

The models that do not duplex

The cheap end of the range prints one side only. Epson does not list automatic two-sided printing on the ET-2800 or the ET-2400, and Canon’s specification page for the MegaTank G3270 did not state it either, so we do not claim it for that model.

All of those are still excellent printers and two of them are the ones we recommend most often across this site. They are simply printers where a double-sided document means picking the stack up and putting it back in.

Manual duplexing is a real option

Every printer will print odd pages, wait for you to flip the stack, and print the even ones. It is tedious and it jams more often, and for two or three double-sided documents a month it is completely fine.

The break-even is not financial so much as behavioral: a duplexer you have means every long document comes out two-sided by default, and a flip you have to perform means most of them do not. If nobody in the house will do the flipping, the duplexer pays for itself in paper you were going to waste.

The other thing you buy with the duplexer

Epson bottle families, priced on the dates shown in each source
Ink familyBlack yieldBlack priceMono per pageColor per page
Epson 522 (ET-2400, ET-2800, ET-4800)4,500 pages$17.99~0.4¢~1.1¢
Epson 502 (ET-2850, ET-4950)7,500 pages$24.99~0.3¢~1.2¢
Epson 552 (ET-8550, six colors)6,700 pages$23.99~0.4¢~1.4¢

Our arithmetic: bottle price divided by Epson’s rated yield, at the ISO 5% coverage standard. The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels. The method in full.

Note the direction of travel. The duplexing models run on 502, whose black bottle is rated higher and costs less per page than 522 — but whose color bottles are rated lower, so heavy color printing narrows the gap and can close it. If you print mostly text, the duplexers are cheaper twice over.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350
Epson EcoTank ET-4950Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesYes$500
Epson EcoTank Photo ET-8550Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.4¢YesNo$750
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Best auto duplex tank printer overall

Epson EcoTank ET-2850

The auto duplexer is the reason to pay the difference over an ET-2800: it halves your paper bill on anything longer than a page.

A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$349.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Automatic two-sided printing, which the ET-2800 and ET-2400 lack
  • Uses 502 ink, whose black bottle is rated higher than the 522 black
  • Lowest cost per mono page of the EcoTanks we cover

What you give up

  • Noticeably dearer than the ET-2800 at list price
  • Still no document feeder
  • 502 color bottles are rated lower than 522 color, so heavy color use narrows the gap

Epson lists auto 2-sided printing on the ET-2850 at $349.99. It also moves you from the 522 ink family to 502, whose black bottle is rated at 7,500 pages against the 522 black’s 4,500. That works out at about 0.3 of a cent a mono page, the lowest of the Epson families we have priced.

You are paying roughly $110 over an ET-2800 for the duplexer and the cheaper black ink. There is no document feeder and no Ethernet at this price.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

Auto duplex with a document feeder

Epson EcoTank ET-4950

The current EcoTank that has everything a small office asks for - feeder, auto duplex, Ethernet and AirPrint - on the cheaper 502 ink. The price is the argument against it.

A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$499.99 at Epson US, checked 29 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Print speed
18 ISO pages per minute black, 9 ISO pages per minute color
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
Automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Wireless and Ethernet
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Auto duplex and a document feeder together, which the cheap EcoTanks do not offer
  • 502 ink, the lowest cost per page of any Epson bottle family we have priced
  • AirPrint is named on Epson's own product page, so Macs and iPhones need no driver

What you give up

  • $499.99 at list - more than twice the cheapest EcoTank that prints the same pages for the same money per page
  • Still an inkjet, so it wants occasional use or the head can clog
  • 18 pages a minute is slow next to any mono laser

The only model here that pairs automatic two-sided printing with an automatic document feeder. Epson publishes auto duplex, an ADF, Ethernet, AirPrint and Mopria, a 250-sheet tray and 18 ISO pages a minute in black, at $499.99.

It runs on the same 502 ink as the ET-2850, so the duplexer and the feeder cost you once rather than costing you per page. Whether $150 of hardware is worth it comes down to whether you scan stacks.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 29 September 2026.

Auto duplex on a photo printer

Epson EcoTank Photo ET-8550

The only printer here bought for photographs rather than paperwork. It is expensive to buy and remarkably cheap to feed, which is the whole argument for it.

Printed photographs stacked on a notebook on a white desk

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.4¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 552 black ink bottle rated at 6,700 pages at $23.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 552 black ink bottle — rated 6,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $23.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 552 color ink bottle — rated 6,200 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $21.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$749.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wi-Fi and Hi-Speed USB
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Six-color ink set with a dedicated photo black and a gray channel
  • Prints borderless up to 13 by 19 inches
  • Bottle-fed, so heavy photo printing does not mean a cartridge bill

What you give up

  • By far the highest sticker price on this site
  • No Ethernet, despite the price
  • Overkill unless photographs are the main reason you are buying

Included because it is the third model in the range that duplexes, and because it is the one nobody should buy for duplexing. Epson lists auto 2-sided printing alongside a six-color 552 ink set with a dedicated photo black and a gray channel, and borderless printing to 13 by 19 inches.

Buy it because you print photographs, at which point the duplexer is a pleasant extra on a document. Buying it for two-sided text would be the most expensive way to save paper available.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Which ink tank printers have automatic two-sided printing?

Of the models we cover, Epson publishes auto 2-sided printing on the ET-2850 ($349.99), the ET-4950 ($499.99) and the photo ET-8550 ($749.99). It is not listed on the cheaper ET-2800 or ET-2400.

Do cheap ink tank printers duplex?

Generally not. Epson does not list automatic two-sided printing on the ET-2400 or ET-2800, and Canon did not state it on the MegaTank G3270 specification we read. The duplexer is the main thing the entry-level models leave out.

Is auto duplex worth paying for on a tank printer?

More than on a cartridge printer. Tank ink costs a fraction of a cent a page, so paper becomes the bigger running cost — and duplexing halves it. On a cartridge machine the ink still dominates and the saving is proportionally smaller.

Can I print double-sided without a duplexer?

Yes, manually: print the odd pages, flip the stack, print the even ones. It works on every printer here. It is tedious enough that most people stop doing it, which is the real argument for buying the duplexer.

Does the duplexing model cost more per page?

No — less, for text. The ET-2850 and ET-4950 use 502 ink at about 0.3 of a cent a mono page against 0.4 for the 522 models. The 502 color bottles are rated lower though, so heavy color printing narrows the difference.

Sources