Skip to content
Tank & Toner
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Compare

EcoTank vs MegaTank vs Smart Tank

Three brands, the same idea, three different executions. One wins on cost per page, one wins on range, and one we could not price at all.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for ecotank vs megatank vs smart tank, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for ecotank vs megatank vs smart tank, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono, 0.8¢ color, with pigment black
Cheapest ink: Canon MegaTank~0.3¢
2
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800About 0.4¢ mono, 1.1¢ color, and every hardware option exists
Best range: Epson EcoTank~0.4¢
3
Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink
HP Smart Tank 7001Genuinely bottle-fed, but no confirmed bottle price
The one we could not price: HP Smart Tanknot published

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Which refillable tank printer system is best?

Canon MegaTank has the lowest cost per page we calculated and a pigment black that suits documents. Epson EcoTank has by far the broadest range and dye ink that suits photographs. HP Smart Tank is genuinely bottle-fed but we could not confirm a bottle price, so we publish no cost figure for it.

All three systems solve the same problem the same way: replace the chipped cartridge with a refillable reservoir and a bottle. The differences are in the ink chemistry, the bottle sizes, and how much hardware each range offers.

How we decided this

We priced every bottle we could and computed cost per page from the manufacturers’ own rated yields. For Canon we used the default-print-mode yield rather than the economy-mode figure, because default mode is what most people print in and the higher number would flatter the system.

Where a price could not be read from a manufacturer or a named retailer, no figure is published. That applies to HP Smart Tank throughout this site, and it is the reason it appears third here rather than being ranked on an estimate.

Cost per page, where we could compute it

The three systems, with every input
SystemBlack bottleColor bottleBlack pageColor page
Canon MegaTank (GI-21)6,000 pages, $17.997,700 pages, $12.99~0.3¢~0.8¢
Epson EcoTank (502)7,500 pages, $24.996,000 pages, $16.99~0.3¢~1.2¢
Epson EcoTank (522)4,500 pages, $17.997,500 pages, $17.99~0.4¢~1.1¢
HP Smart Tank (32XL / 31)6,000 pages, price unconfirmed8,000 pages, price unconfirmednot publishednot published

Yields from the manufacturers’ own pages; prices read on 27 September 2026 from the sources at the foot of this page. HP’s yields are high — the highest color figures here — which makes the missing price genuinely frustrating rather than convenient for us. Our method.

Note that HP has the highest rated color yields of any system in the table. If its bottles are priced comparably, Smart Tank would be competitive on color. We do not know, and saying so is more useful than guessing.

The ink chemistry difference that actually matters

Canon’s MegaTank black is a pigment ink; Epson’s entry-level EcoTank blacks are dye. Pigment sits on the paper surface, dye soaks in.

  • Documents: pigment wins. Crisper text on plain paper, and much better smudge and water resistance for anything handled or carried.
  • Photographs: dye wins. Deeper blacks and smoother gradients, because the ink is in the glossy coating rather than on it.

That single distinction is a better basis for choosing between MegaTank and EcoTank than the fraction of a cent between their bottle prices.

Range, which decides it for a lot of buyers

Epson has the broadest tank range on sale by some distance. If you want automatic duplexing, a document feeder, wired Ethernet, fax, or wide-format six-color photo printing, there is an EcoTank that has it. Canon’s tank range is smaller, and we could not confirm a duplexer on the model we cover.

For a buyer who knows they need a specific feature, that breadth frequently outweighs Canon’s cost advantage. It is also why our EcoTank coverage is deeper: there is more of it to cover.

What all three share, and it is the important part

No chip. Ink arrives in a bottle with no electronics in it, so on any of these systems there is no authentication step, nothing for a firmware update to reject, and no possibility of the situation described in printer DRM.

That applies to HP Smart Tank as much as to the others, which is worth saying clearly: HP’s Dynamic Security is a cartridge mechanism and has nothing to do with its tank printers.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350
HP Smart Tank 7001Ink bottlesn/anot publishedNot statedNonot published

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Cheapest ink: Canon MegaTank

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

MegaTank wins the cost column. Canon rates a GI-21 set at 6,000 black and 7,700 color pages in default mode, and the 170 mL bottles cost less than Epson bottles rated for fewer pages.

Its pigment black is better for documents that get handled and slightly worse on glossy photo paper. Two caveats stay attached: Canon would not show us a printer price, and it did not state automatic duplexing.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Best range: Epson EcoTank

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Epson loses narrowly on cost and wins comfortably on breadth. Whatever hardware you want — a duplexer, a document feeder, Ethernet, fax, wide-format photo printing — there is an EcoTank with it, on one of three ink families.

Its dye-based black is also the right ink for photographs, which pigment is not. For most buyers the range and the dye ink outweigh a fraction of a cent.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

The one we could not price: HP Smart Tank

HP Smart Tank 7001

HP's answer to the EcoTank, and it does refill from bottles - but we could not confirm supply pricing, so we do not publish a cost per page for it.

Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

Cost per page: not published. We could not read a confirmed supply price for the HP Smart Tank 7001 on the date we checked, so there is no figure here. An unknown input means no number, not a guessed one. How we work this out.

List price
Not published where we checked on 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
Optional, and pushed hard

What we like

  • Bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed, so there is no cartridge chip to lock out
  • High rated bottle yields, particularly on color
  • No Instant Ink plan is required to print

What you give up

  • We could not read a bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so there is no cost-per-page figure here
  • HP's Dynamic Security history on its cartridge printers is a reason many buyers avoid the brand entirely
  • Sold alongside heavy promotion of HP's subscription plans

Smart Tank is a real tank system: HP rates the 32XL black bottle at about 6,000 pages and the 31 color bottles at about 8,000 each on its own support pages, and being bottle-fed it is exempt from the cartridge-chip question entirely.

We could not read a confirmed bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so we publish no cost per page for it anywhere on this site. That is the finding, not an omission — an unknown input means no number.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Which is better, EcoTank or MegaTank?

MegaTank is cheaper per page on the prices we read and its pigment black is better for documents. EcoTank has a far broader range and dye ink better suited to photographs. The ink type and the hardware you need should decide it, not the fraction of a cent between them.

Is HP Smart Tank as good as EcoTank?

It is genuinely bottle-fed with high rated yields, so structurally it is the same proposition. We could not read a confirmed bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so we publish no cost per page for it and cannot rank it on cost.

Do any tank printers use cartridges?

No — that is what makes them tank printers. All three systems refill from bottles into reservoirs built into the printer, which is why none of them can be affected by cartridge authentication.

Which tank system has the cheapest ink?

Canon’s GI-21, at about 0.3 of a cent a black page and 0.8 of a cent in color on the prices we read. Epson’s 502 family is close behind on black pages at about 0.3 of a cent.

Can I use third-party ink in any of these?

Physically yes, on all three — there is no chip to authenticate. We do not publish cost-per-page figures for third-party ink because its yields are not rated to the ISO standard, and the manufacturers’ own bottles are already under a cent a page.

Sources