Skip to content
Tank & Toner
Bottles of printer ink standing on a pale surface

Ink Tank

Best HP Smart Tank printers

HP's answer to the EcoTank is genuinely bottle-fed, which removes the lock-in most people fear from HP. The problem is that we could not confirm what its ink costs.

By Ryder M. · Published October 7, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for best hp smart tank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for best hp smart tank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink
HP Smart Tank 7001Bottle-fed with no cartridge chip, HP rates the black bottle at about 6,000 pages
The HP Smart Tank we would considernot published
2
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800$239.99 with a confirmed 0.4¢ mono and 1.1¢ color page
What we would buy instead~0.4¢
3
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270$248.99, about 0.3¢ mono and 0.8¢ color, pigment black
Cheapest to run of any tank we cover~0.3¢
4
A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it
Epson EcoTank ET-4950$499.99 with ADF, duplex, Ethernet, about 0.3¢ mono
Closest match if you want the feeder and Ethernet~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

HP Smart Tank is a real ink tank line, not a cartridge printer with a marketing name. It refills from bottles, which means the mechanism behind every HP lock-out story does not apply to it. That is worth saying clearly, because plenty of coverage lumps the whole brand together. The catch on this page is different and it is ours: we could not confirm what the ink costs.

How we picked

Two things settled the order. First, whether the supply is bottle-fed, which is the question a reader looking at HP is usually really asking. Second, whether we could read a price for that supply and therefore publish a cost per page — because a tank printer recommended without a running-cost figure is a recommendation with its central claim missing.

The Smart Tank 7001 passes the first test and fails the second. It stays at the top of the page because that is the query, and the three machines below it are there because we can show you their numbers.

What Smart Tank actually is

An ink tank printer in the same sense as an Epson EcoTank or a Canon MegaTank: reservoirs inside the printer that you top up from bottles, rather than cartridges you swap. HP’s bottles for the 7000 series are the 32XL in black and the 31 in color, and HP states yields of about 6,000 pages for black and about 8,000 for each color bottle.

Those are high rated yields, particularly on color — higher than Epson’s 522 color bottle at 7,500 pages. If HP’s bottle prices are competitive, the cost per page would be competitive too. We do not know whether they are.

Does the HP lock-in problem apply?

Not to a Smart Tank, and this is the most useful thing on the page. HP operates a named firmware feature, Dynamic Security, which has prevented affected printers from working with non-HP cartridges. Every part of that depends on a cartridge with a chip in it.

There is no chip in a bottle. Pouring ink into a reservoir gives firmware nothing to authenticate, so the mechanism has nothing to act on. If you want an HP printer and the lock-out history is what has been stopping you, the tank line is the structural answer — what Dynamic Security is and which printers have it.

The subscription question, separately

A Smart Tank does not need Instant Ink in order to print. HP does market its plans heavily across the range, so expect the offer during setup, and declining it changes nothing about the printer. That is a billing arrangement, not a firmware restriction, and the two get conflated constantly.

The important distinction: a plan is canceled, where a lockout is not. On cartridge printers enrolled in a plan, canceling has left owners unable to use cartridges they already own — what that looks like and whether HP printers require one.

Smart Tank against the tanks we can price

What each maker publishes, and whether we could confirm a running cost
PrinterSupplyRated yield, blackCost per page we can publish
HP Smart Tank 7001HP 32XL black / HP 31 color bottles6,000 pages (HP stated)None - bottle price not confirmed
Epson EcoTank ET-2800522 bottles4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712)~0.4¢ mono, ~1.1¢ color
Epson EcoTank ET-2850502 bottles7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712)~0.3¢ mono, ~1.2¢ color
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270GI-21 bottles6,000 pages (Canon default mode)~0.3¢ mono, ~0.8¢ color

Yields are each manufacturer's own stated figure, against the standard named where one was published. HP states its yields without naming the ISO standard on the page we read, which is why the row reads 'HP stated'. Cost per page is our arithmetic and exists only where we could read a supply price.

Note that HP’s stated black yield is the highest in the table. That is not nothing — it suggests the ink is not the problem. The problem is that we cannot turn a yield into a cost without a price, and a buyer comparing tank printers on running cost cannot either.

So should you buy one?

If you are already committed to HP hardware — a household that standardises on one brand, or an office with HP drivers already deployed — a Smart Tank is a legitimate purchase, and it is a much better purchase than an HP cartridge printer. Check the current bottle price yourself before you commit, and divide it by the rated yields above.

If you are choosing on running cost with no brand attachment, we would buy an EcoTank or a MegaTank, for the simple reason that we can show you what they cost per page and we cannot show you that here. See our EcoTank roundup, our MegaTank roundup, or the three lines compared head to head.

We will revisit this

This page exists partly as a placeholder for a number we want. If HP publishes a bottle price we can read, we will compute the cost per page and this page will say something more definite. It is dated for that reason.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
HP Smart Tank 7001Ink bottlesn/anot publishedNot statedNonot published
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-4950Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesYes$500

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

The HP Smart Tank we would consider

HP Smart Tank 7001

HP's answer to the EcoTank, and it does refill from bottles - but we could not confirm supply pricing, so we do not publish a cost per page for it.

Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

Cost per page: not published. We could not read a confirmed supply price for the HP Smart Tank 7001 on the date we checked, so there is no figure here. An unknown input means no number, not a guessed one. How we work this out.

List price
Not published where we checked on 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
Optional, and pushed hard

What we like

  • Bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed, so there is no cartridge chip to lock out
  • High rated bottle yields, particularly on color
  • No Instant Ink plan is required to print

What you give up

  • We could not read a bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so there is no cost-per-page figure here
  • HP's Dynamic Security history on its cartridge printers is a reason many buyers avoid the brand entirely
  • Sold alongside heavy promotion of HP's subscription plans

The Smart Tank 7001 is the model in HP’s 7000 series we were able to read a specification for, and the mechanics are right: refillable HP 32XL black and HP 31 color bottles, a flatbed scanner and wireless. HP states the black bottle is rated at about 6,000 pages and each color bottle at about 8,000.

What we cannot tell you is what a page costs. We could not read a bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so there is no cost-per-page figure here and we will not invent one. HP also did not publish a list price for the printer on the support page we read. On the lock-in question it passes: a bottle has no chip for firmware to check.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

What we would buy instead

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

The direct rival, and the reason it wins here is simply that we can show you the arithmetic. Epson lists it at $239.99 and publishes bottle prices we could read: about 0.4 of a cent a mono page and 1.1 cents for an ISO color page on 522 ink.

Print, scan and copy over wireless, refillable 522 tanks, no automatic duplexer and no document feeder. Feature for feature it is close to the Smart Tank 7001, with a published price on both the printer and the ink.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Cheapest to run of any tank we cover

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

If running cost is the reason you were looking at a Smart Tank, this is the machine that answers it. Canon listed it at $248.99 and on the GI-21 bottle prices we read it runs at about 0.3 of a cent a mono page and 0.8 of a cent an ISO color page.

Pigment black ink, which resists water and highlighter better than dye. No document feeder, and Canon did not state automatic duplexing on the page we read.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Closest match if you want the feeder and Ethernet

Epson EcoTank ET-4950

The current EcoTank that has everything a small office asks for - feeder, auto duplex, Ethernet and AirPrint - on the cheaper 502 ink. The price is the argument against it.

A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$499.99 at Epson US, checked 29 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Print speed
18 ISO pages per minute black, 9 ISO pages per minute color
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
Automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Wireless and Ethernet
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Auto duplex and a document feeder together, which the cheap EcoTanks do not offer
  • 502 ink, the lowest cost per page of any Epson bottle family we have priced
  • AirPrint is named on Epson's own product page, so Macs and iPhones need no driver

What you give up

  • $499.99 at list - more than twice the cheapest EcoTank that prints the same pages for the same money per page
  • Still an inkjet, so it wants occasional use or the head can clog
  • 18 pages a minute is slow next to any mono laser

Buyers drawn to the larger Smart Tank all-in-ones are usually after a document feeder and a network port. Epson publishes both here, plus automatic duplexing and 18 ISO pages a minute in black, at a $499.99 list price.

About 0.3 of a cent a mono page and 1.2 cents for an ISO color page on 502 bottles. Dearer than any Smart Tank is likely to be, with every input published.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 29 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best HP Smart Tank printer?

Of the HP tank models we could read a specification for, the Smart Tank 7001: refillable HP 32XL and HP 31 bottles, a flatbed scanner and wireless. We publish no cost per page for it because we could not confirm a bottle price.

Is HP Smart Tank the same as Epson EcoTank?

The same idea: reservoirs refilled from bottles instead of cartridges. The difference that matters for a buyer is that we could read Epson’s bottle prices and could not read HP’s, so only the EcoTank carries a published running cost here.

Does HP Dynamic Security affect Smart Tank printers?

The mechanism cannot apply. Dynamic Security checks a cartridge chip, and a Smart Tank is filled from bottles with no chip in them. That is the strongest argument for the tank line over HP’s cartridge printers.

Do HP Smart Tank printers need a subscription?

No. A Smart Tank prints without Instant Ink. HP markets its plans heavily during setup, so expect the offer, but declining it changes nothing about what the printer will do.

How much does HP Smart Tank ink cost per page?

We do not publish a figure, because we could not read a price for the HP 32XL or HP 31 bottles on the date we checked. HP states the black bottle is rated at about 6,000 pages - divide the current price by that to get your own figure.

Which ink tank printer should I buy instead?

The Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 if running cost is the priority, at about 0.3 of a cent a mono page, or the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 at $239.99 and about 0.4 of a cent. Both have every input published.

Sources