Skip to content
Tank & Toner
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Ink Tank

Best Canon MegaTank printers

MegaTank gets less attention than EcoTank and beats it on the number that matters. It also uses a different kind of black ink, which changes what it is good at.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for best canon megatank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for best canon megatank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Lowest cost per page anywhere on this site: ~0.3¢ mono, ~0.8¢ color
Best MegaTank overall~0.3¢
2
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Slightly dearer per page, more models and more hardware options
The EcoTank alternative, for comparison~0.4¢
3
A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Auto two-sided printing, which no MegaTank we checked confirmed
If you need a duplexer~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Canon’s MegaTank is the same idea as Epson’s EcoTank — refill from a bottle, no cartridge — executed slightly differently, and the differences are more interesting than the marketing suggests.

How we picked

Cost per page came first, computed from Canon’s own published yields for the G3270 and GI-21 bottle prices from a named retailer. We used Canon’s default print-mode yields rather than its economy-mode figures, because default mode is what most people will actually print in and using the higher number would flatter the printer on a setting most owners never change.

Because Canon’s range is small, this page also compares against the closest EcoTank models rather than pretending there are five MegaTanks worth ranking. Where Canon had not published a specification or a price, we say so instead of filling the gap.

Three real differences from EcoTank

1. Pigment black instead of dye black

The most consequential difference. Pigment ink sits on the paper surface; dye soaks in. Pigment gives crisper text on plain paper and much better smudge and water resistance, and is slightly worse on glossy photo paper where deep blacks come from penetration. Documents: pigment. Photographs: dye.

2. Larger bottles

The GI-21 bottles are 170 mL, against 65 mL for an Epson 522 bottle. Larger bottles mean fewer refill events and, on the prices we read, a lower cost per page.

3. A much smaller range

This is the disadvantage, and it is real. Epson sells EcoTanks with duplexers, document feeders, Ethernet, fax and wide-format photo capability. If you want any of those on Canon’s tank ink, your options are narrower.

A note on Canon’s two yield figures

Canon publishes two sets of page yields for the G3270: up to 6,000 black pages in default print mode, and a higher figure in economy mode. Both are honest numbers measured the same way; they just describe different settings.

We publish the default-mode figure throughout. Using the economy number would make the printer look cheaper to run than it will be for anyone who does not change a driver setting, which is nearly everyone. It is the kind of small choice that decides whether a cost-per-page figure is useful or flattering.

Where MegaTank falls short

  • No confirmed duplexer. Canon’s page did not state automatic two-sided printing, and paper is the dominant cost on a printer this cheap to feed.
  • No document feeder on the G3270. Flatbed scanning only.
  • Canon would not show us a printer price. The figure we use comes from a retailer and is labeled as such throughout the site.
  • Wrong ink type for photographs. A real limitation rather than a nitpick, and the reason it is not a pick on the photo page.
Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350
Brother HL-L2460DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesNo$180

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Best MegaTank overall

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

On the prices we read, the G3270 is the cheapest printer to run that we cover, in both mono and color. Canon rates a full GI-21 set at 6,000 black pages and 7,700 color pages in default print mode, and the 170 mL bottles are large enough that refills are rare events.

The pigment black is the reason to choose it over an EcoTank for documents: it sits on the paper surface, so text is crisper and far more resistant to smudging and water. Prints that get handled, filed or carried in a bag hold up noticeably better.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

The EcoTank alternative, for comparison

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Included honestly, because for a lot of buyers it is the better purchase despite losing the cost column. At about 0.4 of a cent a black page it is barely behind, and the EcoTank range is much larger — so if you later want a duplexer, a document feeder or Ethernet on the same ink, there is a model that has it.

Its dye-based black is also the better choice if you print photographs. The gap between these two printers is small enough that hardware and ink type should decide it, not the fourth decimal place of a cent.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

If you need a duplexer

Epson EcoTank ET-2850

The auto duplexer is the reason to pay the difference over an ET-2800: it halves your paper bill on anything longer than a page.

A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$349.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Automatic two-sided printing, which the ET-2800 and ET-2400 lack
  • Uses 502 ink, whose black bottle is rated higher than the 522 black
  • Lowest cost per mono page of the EcoTanks we cover

What you give up

  • Noticeably dearer than the ET-2800 at list price
  • Still no document feeder
  • 502 color bottles are rated lower than 522 color, so heavy color use narrows the gap

Canon’s specification page for the G3270 did not state automatic two-sided printing, and we do not claim a feature a manufacturer has not published. If a duplexer is a requirement, the ET-2850 lists one.

That matters more than it sounds on a printer this cheap to feed: paper costs roughly a cent a sheet, which is several times the ink, so halving the paper saves more than the entire difference in bottle price between these two machines.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best MegaTank printer?

The Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270. On the prices we read it has the lowest cost per page of anything we cover — about 0.3 of a cent black and 0.8 of a cent color — and its pigment black is better for documents that get handled.

Is MegaTank cheaper to run than EcoTank?

On our figures, yes, in both mono and color. The gap is small in absolute terms because both are already well under a cent a page, so for most households it should not be the deciding factor.

What is pigment black ink and does it matter?

Pigment ink sits on the paper surface rather than soaking in. It gives crisper text on plain paper and much better smudge and water resistance, at the cost of slightly less depth on glossy photo paper. For documents it is an advantage; for photographs it is not.

Does the Canon G3270 print double-sided automatically?

The Canon specification page we read did not state automatic two-sided printing, so we do not claim it either way. Check the current specification if a duplexer is a requirement, or look at the Epson ET-2850, which lists one.

Do MegaTank printers need a subscription?

No. They are filled from GI-21 bottles you buy outright. There is no cartridge, so there is also no chip for a firmware update to reject.

Sources