Skip to content
Tank & Toner
Coins falling into a glass jar, illustrating saving money

Guides

How much does printer ink cost?

Per page rather than per cartridge, because per cartridge tells you nothing. Every figure here shows the supply, its rated yield, the price and the date.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for how much does printer ink cost?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for how much does printer ink cost?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ a black page from a 170 mL bottle
Cheapest ink we found~0.3¢
2
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800About 0.4¢ mono, 1.1¢ color, with the broadest range behind it
The mainstream cheap-ink answer~0.4¢
3
A modern printer on a minimalist office desk
Brother HL-L2460DWToner at about 3.3¢, and nothing to dry out
If the answer is no ink at all~3.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

How much does printer ink cost?

It depends entirely on the format. Refillable bottle ink works out under a cent a page — about 0.4 of a cent for Epson 522. Laser toner is a few cents. Published figures put cartridge ink at about 7.5 cents a page for black and about 20 cents a page for color, which is roughly twenty times bottle ink.

The reason “how much does printer ink cost” is hard to answer is that the useful unit is a page, not a cartridge. A $60 cartridge and a $25 bottle tell you nothing until you know how many pages each is rated for.

The real numbers, with every input

Every supply we priced, with its rated yield and the resulting cost per page
SupplyRated yieldPrice we readPer page
Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle6,000 pages$17.99~0.3¢
Epson 502 black ink bottle7,500 pages$24.99~0.3¢
Epson 522 black ink bottle4,500 pages$17.99~0.4¢
Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge3,000 pages$98.29~3.3¢
Brother TN830 standard-yield toner cartridge1,200 pages$60.99~5.1¢
Canon 125 black toner cartridge1,600 pages$96.95~6.1¢
Cartridge inkjet ink, blackvaries widelyvaries widelyabout 7.5 cents a page

Our figures are supply price divided by manufacturer-rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 from the sources at the foot of this page. The final row is Toner Buzz’s published range, quoted rather than claimed. Our method.

Read the top and bottom rows together: roughly a twentyfold difference, and both are “printer ink”.

And in color

A color page draws from all four channels, so every inefficiency in the supply format is multiplied by four. Bottle-fed color is about 1.1 of a cent on Epson 522 ink; published figures put cartridge color at about 20 cents a page.

Color is therefore where the format matters most, and where a refillable tank saves the most money.

Why cartridge ink costs so much more

Not because the ink is different. Because of what it is sold in. A cartridge is a molded plastic assembly with a chip, a sponge or bladder, packaging and distribution, holding a modest volume of liquid. A large share of the price is that assembly. A bottle is a bottle.

There is also the business model underneath it: printer hardware is often sold at or near cost, and the margin lives in supplies. That is not a conspiracy, it is published pricing strategy — but it does mean the cheapest printer in a shop is frequently the most expensive one to feed.

The one trick that always works

Why your real cost is higher than any of these numbers

Every rated page yield assumes about 5% page coverage — roughly a third of a page of double-spaced text, as Toner Buzz puts it. Real documents use more, and photographs use vastly more.

There is also maintenance ink on any inkjet: print head cleaning consumes ink that never reaches paper, and nobody itemizes it. Treat every figure on this page as a floor, and as a fair basis for comparing printers rather than a forecast.

Work out yours

Find the exact cartridge or bottle your printer takes, look up its rated page yield on the manufacturer’s page, note today’s price where you would buy it, and divide. Multiply by your monthly pages for a monthly ink cost you can compare against a subscription.

Or let the calculator do it. It runs in your browser, stores nothing, and shows the same working.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Brother HL-L2460DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesNo$180
Canon imageCLASS LBP6030wToner~6.1¢mono onlyNoNonot published

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Cheapest ink we found

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

If the question is simply “how do I stop paying so much for ink”, this is the answer with the lowest number attached. A 170 mL bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99.

Pigment black, which is better for documents that get handled and slightly worse on glossy photo paper.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

The mainstream cheap-ink answer

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

About 0.4 of a cent a black page on Epson 522 ink, which is roughly a twentieth of what published figures say a cartridge inkjet costs. The EcoTank range is also the broadest on sale, so bottles will be easy to find in years to come.

No automatic duplexer — and at these ink prices, paper is the larger cost, so that omission matters more than it sounds.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

If the answer is no ink at all

Brother HL-L2460DW

If you print black text and nothing else, this is the printer to buy. It cannot dry out, it duplexes, and Brother does not block third-party toner.

A modern printer on a minimalist office desk

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~3.3¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages at $98.29, priced on 27 September 2026.

  • Brother TN830XL high-yield toner cartridge — rated 3,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $98.29 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$179.99 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 36 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Dual-band wireless (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz), Ethernet or USB
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Toner does not dry out, so it is ideal if you print in occasional bursts
  • Automatic two-sided printing at 36 pages per minute
  • Brother has publicly denied blocking third-party toner with firmware

What you give up

  • Black only - no color at all
  • Cost per page is roughly ten times a tank printer's
  • The 700-page starter cartridge runs out fast; budget for a TN830XL

Worth including because a lot of people asking about ink prices would be better served by not buying ink. Toner costs about 3.3 cents a page — more than bottle ink, less than cartridges — and it cannot dry out.

At low volumes the difference between 3.3 cents and 0.4 of a cent is a few dollars a year, and the laser is cheaper to buy.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Brother HL-L2460DW →

Questions people actually ask

How much does printer ink cost per page?

Refillable bottle ink is under a cent — about 0.4 of a cent for Epson 522 and 0.3 of a cent for Canon GI-21 on the prices we read. Laser toner is a few cents. Published figures put cartridge ink at about 7.5 cents a page for black.

Why is printer ink so expensive?

Because much of what you pay for is the cartridge rather than the ink: a molded assembly with a chip, packaged and distributed, holding a modest volume. Printer hardware is also often sold at or near cost, with the margin recovered through supplies.

Is bottled ink really that much cheaper?

Yes — roughly twenty times, on the figures above. A 170 mL Canon GI-21 bottle is rated for 6,000 pages and costs about what a single high-yield cartridge does.

Should I buy standard or high-yield cartridges?

High-yield, essentially always. On the same Brother printer the standard cartridge works out at about 5.1 cents a page and the high-yield at about 3.3 cents, because the fixed cost of the cartridge spreads over more pages.

Why does my ink run out faster than the rated yield?

Rated yields assume about 5% page coverage, which is less ink than most real documents use. Inkjets also consume ink on print head cleaning, which never reaches paper and is not itemized anywhere.

Is third-party ink worth buying?

It is cheaper, and we do not publish cost-per-page figures for it because its yields are not rated to the ISO standard. On a bottle-fed printer there is no chip to reject it; on a cartridge printer it may be authenticated — how that works.

Sources