Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A delivery driver carrying parcels with printed shipping labels

Guides

Printers that come with ink

They all do. The question worth asking is how much - because a starter cartridge rated at 700 pages is not the 3,000-page one the cost-per-page tables assume.

By Ryder M. · Published October 7, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for printers that come with ink, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for printers that come with ink, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person operating a multifunction printer and copier in an office
Brother HL-L6210DWShips with a TN920 cartridge Brother rates at 3,000 pages
Most printing included in the box~1.3¢
2
A modern printer on a minimalist office desk
Brother HL-L5210DWIncluded TN920 rated at 3,000 pages, $329.99 at list price
Same 3,000-page cartridge, lower price~1.9¢
3
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800$239.99, refillable 522 tanks, about 0.4¢ mono and 1.1¢ color after
Bottles rather than a cartridge~0.4¢
4
An open magazine on a white table, showing full-color print output
Brother HL-L3220CDWFour starter cartridges, each rated at 1,000 pages, $284.99
Most cartridges in the box~3.2¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Do printers come with ink?

Yes, every printer ships with ink or toner. The useful question is how much: entry-level lasers often include a starter cartridge rated at 700 pages where the replacement is rated at 3,000, while ink tank printers arrive with bottles instead. The starter yield is published on the spec sheet and is worth checking before you buy.

“Comes with ink” is marketed as a feature and is in fact universal. What varies, by a factor of four or more, is how much printing is included — and that difference is rarely on the box front. Below are the published starter yields for every model we cover that states one.

What is actually in the box

Published starter supply yields, from each manufacturer's own specification page
PrinterWhat ships with itReplacement supplyPer page after
Brother HL-L2460DWStarter black toner rated at 700 pagesTN830XL, 3,000 pages~3.3¢
Brother DCP-L2640DWStarter black toner rated at 700 pagesTN830XL, 3,000 pages~3.3¢
Brother MFC-L2820DWStarter black toner rated at 700 pagesTN830XL, 3,000 pages~3.3¢
Brother HL-L3220CDWFour starter cartridges, 1,000 pages eachTN229XL black, 3,000 pages~3.2¢
Brother HL-L5210DWIncluded TN920 rated at 3,000 pagesTN920XXL, 11,000 pages~1.9¢
Brother HL-L6210DWIncluded TN920 rated at 3,000 pagesTN920UXXL, 18,000 pages~1.3¢
Epson EcoTank rangeInk bottles - page figure not published on the pages we read522 or 502 bottles~0.4¢ to 0.3¢
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles - page figure not published on the page we readGI-21 bottles~0.3¢

Starter yields as published by Brother USA on each model's specification page. For the tank printers we deliberately publish no in-box page figure: the manufacturers did not state one on the pages we read, and we do not estimate. Cost per page is our arithmetic on rated yields and prices we read.

The pattern is worth internalising. The three cheapest Brother lasers include 700 pages; the two business models include 3,000. That is not a small difference — at 50 pages a month it is the gap between buying toner after a year and buying it after five.

Why a starter cartridge makes a cheap printer look cheaper

A printer sold on price has an incentive to include the smallest cartridge that will get you through setup and a few weeks of use. That is not deceptive — the yield is published — but it does mean the first replacement arrives sooner than a buyer comparing cartridge prices would expect.

Factor it in like this. A $179.99 printer with a 700-page starter and a $98.29 replacement costs you about $278 before you have printed 3,700 pages. A $349.99 printer with a 3,000-page starter and a $241.49 replacement costs you $591 and takes you to 21,000. Per page, the second is far cheaper.

Tank printers: bottles instead of a cartridge

A tank printer arrives with sealed bottles that you pour into reservoirs during setup. Epson and Canon both supply ink in the box and both market the quantity heavily. We do not repeat a page figure for it, because neither manufacturer stated one on the product pages we read, and an estimate presented as a fact is exactly what this site exists not to do.

What we can say is that the bottles are large — the Epson 522 black bottle alone is rated at 4,500 pages at 65 mL — and that the replacement cost is well under a cent a page either way. For most households the in-box fill lasts long enough that the question stops mattering. The fuller case: are ink tank printers worth it.

What about printers that come with free ink for a year?

That offer is usually a subscription trial, not ink in the box. It means the first few months of a supply plan are included, after which a monthly charge begins and a page allowance applies. That is a different thing from a cartridge you own, and it is reversible only by canceling.

Two things to know before accepting one. Plan cartridges are tied to the plan, and owners who canceled have been left with a printer that would not accept cartridges they already had: what happens and how to fix it. And the arithmetic rarely favors the plan at household volumes: the alternatives, costed.

What to do with this

Before buying, find three numbers on the specification page: the starter supply yield, the replacement supply yield, and the replacement price. Divide the last two and you have the cost per page the printer will actually settle at. Then check the starter yield to know when that cost starts applying.

If you would rather not do it by hand, the calculator does it in about thirty seconds, and every printer we cover is already ranked by cost per page.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Brother HL-L5210DWToner~1.9¢mono onlyYesNo$330
Brother HL-L6210DWToner~1.3¢mono onlyYesNo$350
Brother HL-L3220CDWToner~3.2¢not publishedYesNo$285
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Most printing included in the box

Brother HL-L6210DW

The lowest cost per page of any laser on this site, because it takes an 18,000-page cartridge. It is also the only model here with a 520-sheet main tray.

A person operating a multifunction printer and copier in an office

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~1.3¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN920UXXL ultra high-yield toner cartridge rated at 18,000 pages at $241.49, priced on 29 September 2026.

  • Brother TN920UXXL ultra high-yield toner cartridge — rated 18,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $241.49 at Brother USA, checked 29 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$349.99 at Brother USA, checked 29 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 50 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Gigabit Ethernet, dual-band wireless (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz) and Hi-Speed USB 2.0
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • TN920UXXL toner is the cheapest per page of any cartridge we have priced
  • 520-sheet main tray plus a 100-sheet multi-purpose tray, so two paper stocks stay loaded
  • 50 pages a minute with auto duplex and Gigabit Ethernet

What you give up

  • Print only - no scanner or feeder
  • Brother publishes a higher headline capacity figure than the two trays alone account for, so read the tray specification before you assume a third tray is included
  • Nearly twice the price of a household mono laser before toner

Brother publishes an included TN920 toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages on this model — more than four times the 700-page starter cartridge on its own entry-level lasers. For a household printing 50 pages a month that is five years before you buy toner.

$349.99 at list price, up to 50 pages a minute, automatic duplexing, Gigabit Ethernet. When you do replace it, the TN920UXXL is rated at 18,000 pages at about 1.3 cents a page.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 29 September 2026.

Same 3,000-page cartridge, lower price

Brother HL-L5210DW

The cheapest way onto Brother's business toner family, which is the real reason to buy it: the cartridge is roughly half the cost per page of the household models.

A modern printer on a minimalist office desk

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~1.9¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN920XXL super high-yield toner cartridge rated at 11,000 pages at $204.29, priced on 29 September 2026.

  • Brother TN920XXL super high-yield toner cartridge — rated 11,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19752), $204.29 at Brother USA, checked 29 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$329.99 at Brother USA, checked 29 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 48 pages per minute
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Gigabit Ethernet, dual-band wireless (2.4 GHz / 5 GHz) and Hi-Speed USB 2.0
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • TN920XXL toner works out at roughly half the cost per page of the household TN830XL
  • A genuine second paper source - a 100-sheet multi-purpose tray, not a one-sheet slot
  • 48 pages a minute with auto duplex and Gigabit Ethernet

What you give up

  • Print only - no scanner, no copier, no fax
  • $150 more than the HL-L2460DW before you buy any toner
  • A replacement cartridge is a $200-plus purchase, even though each page is cheaper

The cheaper of the two business lasers and it ships with the same published 3,000-page TN920 cartridge. Brother lists it at $329.99 with up to 48 pages a minute, automatic duplexing and a 350-sheet standard paper capacity.

The replacement here is the TN920XXL at 11,000 pages, about 1.9 cents a page.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 29 September 2026.

Bottles rather than a cartridge

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

A tank printer arrives with ink bottles rather than a cartridge, and Epson describes the supplied ink as enough to last most households a long time. We do not publish a page figure for the in-box fill, because Epson did not state one on the product page we read and we will not estimate it.

What we can publish is what refills cost: about 0.4 of a cent a mono page and 1.1 cents for an ISO color page on 522 bottles. $239.99 at list price, print, scan and copy.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Most cartridges in the box

Brother HL-L3220CDW

A color laser that will not dry out between jobs. Buy it for occasional color that has to be crisp, not for cheap color - a tank printer wins on cost by a wide margin.

An open magazine on a white table, showing full-color print output

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~3.2¢ per mono page

Based on a Brother TN229XL black high-yield toner cartridge rated at 3,000 pages at $96.29, priced on 27 September 2026.

  • Brother TN229XL black high-yield toner cartridge — rated 3,000 pages (ISO/IEC 19798), $96.29 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$284.99 at Brother USA, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Toner cartridge
Print speed
Up to 19 pages per minute in black and in color
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Color laser output does not dry out during long idle spells
  • Auto duplex printing
  • Four separate cartridges, so one exhausted color does not mean replacing the set

What you give up

  • Color toner is expensive per page next to any ink tank printer
  • Four cartridges to replace instead of one
  • Slower than the mono lasers at 19 pages per minute

Brother publishes starter black, cyan, magenta and yellow cartridges rated at 1,000 pages each. On a color laser that is a genuinely useful amount of included printing, because replacing four cartridges is the expensive part of owning one.

$284.99 at list price, up to 19 pages a minute in black and color, automatic duplexing. The black replacement is the TN229XL at about 3.2 cents a page; color pages cost considerably more.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Brother HL-L3220CDW →

Questions people actually ask

Do new printers come with ink?

Yes, all of them. Lasers ship with a toner cartridge and tank printers ship with ink bottles. The amount varies widely: Brother publishes 700-page starter cartridges on its entry-level lasers and 3,000-page cartridges on its business models.

How much ink comes with a printer?

On the lasers we cover, between 700 and 3,000 pages as rated by Brother. For the Epson and Canon tank printers, both supply bottles in the box but neither published a page figure on the pages we read, so we do not quote one.

What is a starter cartridge?

A toner or ink cartridge supplied with a new printer, usually rated at a lower page yield than the replacement sold separately. It is genuine manufacturer supply, just smaller - 700 pages against 3,000 on the Brother lasers here.

Which printer comes with the most ink?

Of the models we cover, the Brother HL-L5210DW and HL-L6210DW: Brother publishes an included TN920 cartridge rated at 3,000 pages on both, against 700 pages on its entry-level lasers.

Do printers that come with free ink for a year cost more later?

Usually that offer is a subscription trial rather than ink in the box, so a monthly charge begins when it ends. At most household volumes buying supplies outright costs less, and it cannot be switched off.

Is the ink that comes with a tank printer enough to matter?

Yes. The Epson 522 black bottle alone is rated at 4,500 pages, so a household printing fifty pages a month is well into a second year before buying ink - though we do not publish a figure for the in-box fill specifically.

Sources