Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A home wireless network router on a shelf

Ink Tank

Best wireless ink tank printers

Wireless is standard on every refillable tank printer sold. What still separates them is Ethernet, the mobile printing standards named on the spec sheet, and the ink.

By Ryder M. · Published September 29, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for best wireless ink tank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for best wireless ink tank printers, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800$239.99, AirPrint named by Epson, ~0.4¢ a mono page
Best wireless tank printer overall~0.4¢
2
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Wireless, ~0.3¢ mono and ~0.8¢ color
Cheapest to run, wirelessly~0.3¢
3
A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it
Epson EcoTank ET-4950$499.99, wireless plus Ethernet, AirPrint and Mopria
Best if wireless is not enough~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Searching for a wireless ink tank printer narrows the field by roughly nothing, because every refillable tank printer on sale is wireless. The questions that do narrow it are duller and more useful: is there a cable option, which mobile printing standards are actually named on the specification, and what does a page cost.

How we picked

We read the connectivity section of each manufacturer page rather than inferring. Where Epson or Canon named a mobile printing standard — AirPrint, Mopria, Epson Smart Panel — we have said so and named it. Where a page did not name one, we have not claimed it, even where the brand supports it elsewhere in the range.

We then ranked on cost per page from the bottle family, which on a tank printer is the only running cost that compounds, and finally on whether the model also has Ethernet.

The port that fixes the wireless problem

Wireless printers fail in a characteristic way: they worked yesterday, nobody changed anything, and the failure cannot be reproduced on demand. Usually the printer has slept on the radio, moved channel or been given a different address.

An Ethernet port removes all three at once. Of the tank printers here, the ET-4950 and the ET-4800 have one; the ET-2800, ET-2400 and G3270 do not. If the printer is going to live near the router and be shared, that port is worth more than any other difference on this page.

What is actually named on the spec sheet

Mobile printing standards as published on each manufacturer page, read September 2026
PrinterWirelessEthernetNamed on the page
Epson EcoTank ET-2800YesNoAirPrint, Epson Smart Panel app
Epson EcoTank ET-4950YesYesAirPrint, Mopria, Epson Smart Panel app
Epson EcoTank ET-2850YesNoMopria Print Service, Mopria Scan, Epson Smart Panel app
Canon MegaTank G3270YesNoNot stated on the specification we could read

We list only what the manufacturer's own page named on the date we read it. An absence here means we could not verify it, not that the feature is missing.

That table is more useful than it looks. AirPrint is what lets an iPhone print with nothing installed, and it is the one buyers most often assume rather than check. Apple states that an AirPrint-enabled printer needs no additional drivers or software, and that the device must be on the same Wi-Fi network as the printer. Apple Support.

Why a wireless printer “disappears”

  • Guest networks. A phone on the guest network and a printer on the main one are, as far as the router is concerned, on different networks. This is the most common cause by a distance.
  • Separately named bands. If your router publishes 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz under different names, put both devices on the same one.
  • Client isolation. Sometimes called AP isolation. It exists to stop devices seeing each other, and it stops printing too.

None of those are printer faults, and all three look exactly like one. Check them before concluding the hardware is bad.

What wireless costs you: nothing

Wireless has no effect on the running cost, which on these machines is the only number that compounds. At 200 pages a month, three years of black ink is about $29 on 522 and $22 on Canon’s GI-21. Those are the figures that decide which of these to buy; the radio is the same on all of them.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-4950Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesYes$500
Epson EcoTank ET-2400Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$190

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Best wireless tank printer overall

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Epson states on this model’s own page that you can print from a smart device using AirPrint or the Epson Smart Panel app. At $239.99 with a flatbed scanner and 522 ink, it is the wireless tank printer we recommend to most households.

Wireless only — no Ethernet port — and no automatic duplexer. For a printer that lives in a bedroom or a hallway and prints for a family, that is the right set of compromises.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Cheapest to run, wirelessly

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

Canon lists wireless connectivity on the G3270, and it remains the cheapest printer per page anywhere on this site — about 0.3 of a cent black and 0.8 of a cent color, on 170 mL GI-21 bottles.

Two honest caveats we repeat everywhere: Canon’s own store would not serve us a printer price so ours is a retailer listing, and the specification page we could read did not state automatic duplexing, so we do not claim it.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Best if wireless is not enough

Epson EcoTank ET-4950

The current EcoTank that has everything a small office asks for - feeder, auto duplex, Ethernet and AirPrint - on the cheaper 502 ink. The price is the argument against it.

A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$499.99 at Epson US, checked 29 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Print speed
18 ISO pages per minute black, 9 ISO pages per minute color
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
Automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Wireless and Ethernet
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Auto duplex and a document feeder together, which the cheap EcoTanks do not offer
  • 502 ink, the lowest cost per page of any Epson bottle family we have priced
  • AirPrint is named on Epson's own product page, so Macs and iPhones need no driver

What you give up

  • $499.99 at list - more than twice the cheapest EcoTank that prints the same pages for the same money per page
  • Still an inkjet, so it wants occasional use or the head can clog
  • 18 pages a minute is slow next to any mono laser

Epson publishes wireless and Ethernet on this model, along with AirPrint and Mopria, an automatic document feeder, auto duplex and a 250-sheet tray.

The Ethernet port is the reason it is on a wireless page. A shared printer that keeps vanishing from the network is the most common printer complaint there is, and a cable ends it. Buy the wireless printer; plug it in anyway.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 29 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

What is the best wireless ink tank printer?

The Epson EcoTank ET-2800 at $239.99 for most households: Epson names AirPrint on its own page, and the 522 ink costs about 0.4 of a cent a mono page. If the printer will be shared, the ET-4950 adds Ethernet, a feeder and auto duplex.

Are all ink tank printers wireless?

Every refillable tank printer we cover lists wireless connectivity. Wireless is not the thing that separates them — Ethernet, a document feeder, auto duplex and the bottle family are.

Which ink tank printers have Ethernet as well as Wi-Fi?

Of the models we cover, Epson publishes Ethernet on the ET-4950 and the ET-4800. The ET-2800, ET-2400, ET-2850 and Canon G3270 are wireless only on the pages we read.

Why does my wireless printer keep going offline?

Usually the network rather than the printer: a guest network, separately named 2.4 GHz and 5 GHz bands, or router client isolation will each break discovery. Put the device and the printer on the same named network before suspecting the hardware.

Can I print to an ink tank printer from an iPhone?

Where AirPrint is supported, yes, with nothing installed. Epson names AirPrint on the ET-2800 and ET-4950 pages we read. Apple’s requirement is that the iPhone and the printer are on the same Wi-Fi network.

Sources