Skip to content
Tank & Toner
Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink

Guides

Which printers have refillable ink?

Three ranges: Epson EcoTank, Canon MegaTank and HP Smart Tank. All refill from bottles, which changes both what printing costs and who controls your supplies.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for which printers have refillable ink?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for which printers have refillable ink?, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800About 0.4¢ mono, 1.1¢ color, broadest range behind it
Best refillable printer for most people~0.4¢
2
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono with 170 mL bottles and pigment black
Cheapest refillable printer to run~0.3¢
3
Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink
HP Smart Tank 7001Genuinely bottle-fed, with high rated yields, but no price we could confirm
HP's refillable rangenot published

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Which printers have refillable ink?

Three ranges: Epson EcoTank, Canon MegaTank and HP Smart Tank. All three replace the cartridge with a reservoir built into the printer, refilled from bottles. Cost per page falls to under a cent, and because a bottle has no chip there is nothing to authenticate.

“Refillable” here means designed to be refilled, not refilled by a workaround. These are printers sold with reservoirs and bottles, supported by the manufacturer, under warranty.

The three ranges

Refillable tank systems, with what we could and could not price
RangeInkBlack pageColor page
Epson EcoTank522, 502 or 552 bottles~0.4¢ to ~0.3¢~1.1¢
Canon MegaTankGI-21 bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢
HP Smart Tank32XL and 31 bottlesnot publishednot published

Our figures are arithmetic on bottle prices and manufacturer-rated yields read on 27 September 2026. HP’s yields are high — the highest color figures of the three — but we could not confirm a bottle price, so we publish no cost per page. The three-way comparison.

What refillable ink actually changes

The cost, by roughly twentyfold

A bottle has almost no packaging overhead. A 170 mL bottle rated for 6,000 pages costs about what a single high-yield cartridge does. Published figures put cartridge inkjet printing at about 7.5 cents a page for black against well under a cent here.

Who controls your supply

This is the part people often care about more once they understand it. A cartridge carries a chip, and on some printers that chip is used to verify the cartridge is the manufacturer’s. A bottle carries nothing. So the whole category of problem described in printer DRM cannot arise.

That is a structural exemption rather than a matter of trusting a brand, which makes it more durable than any corporate assurance.

What you pay up front

More. A tank printer costs meaningfully more than a comparable cartridge printer, and part of that is pre-paid ink — the bottles in the box last most households a long time. It is the reason a tank printer only pays off above a certain volume.

The catch, stated properly

There is a second, smaller catch: on many cartridge printers the print head is part of the cartridge, so a clog is fixed by buying a cartridge. On a tank printer the head is permanent, which makes a badly clogged one a service matter. Another reason the fortnightly page is worth it.

What about refilling cartridges yourself?

Physically possible on many cartridge printers, and not something we recommend or cover. The cartridge chip still reports levels and may still authenticate, refill kits are messy, and yields are unknowable — so we could not publish a cost per page for it even if we wanted to.

A printer designed to be refilled solves the same problem without any of that.

Third-party bottles

Nothing stops you: there is no chip in a bottle, so any ink that fits will go in. We do not publish cost-per-page figures for third-party ink because its yields are not rated to the ISO standard, and it is worth noticing that the manufacturers’ own bottles are already under a cent a page. The remaining saving is small and the variable you are trading is warranty rather than money.

Which to buy

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
HP Smart Tank 7001Ink bottlesn/anot publishedNot statedNonot published
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Best refillable printer for most people

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

EcoTank is the range that defined this category and still has the most models. The ET-2800 is the one we point most households at: print, scan and copy in color at about 0.4 of a cent a black page.

No automatic duplexer. On a printer this cheap to feed, paper costs more than ink, so a duplexing model is worth considering if you print long documents.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Cheapest refillable printer to run

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

MegaTank uses larger bottles and, on the prices we read, gives the lowest cost per page of anything we cover. Its pigment black is better than dye for documents that get handled.

Smaller range than EcoTank, no document feeder, and Canon did not state automatic duplexing on the specification page we read.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

HP's refillable range

HP Smart Tank 7001

HP's answer to the EcoTank, and it does refill from bottles - but we could not confirm supply pricing, so we do not publish a cost per page for it.

Ink being poured from a bottle, illustrating bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed ink

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

Cost per page: not published. We could not read a confirmed supply price for the HP Smart Tank 7001 on the date we checked, so there is no figure here. An unknown input means no number, not a guessed one. How we work this out.

List price
Not published where we checked on 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
Optional, and pushed hard

What we like

  • Bottle-fed rather than cartridge-fed, so there is no cartridge chip to lock out
  • High rated bottle yields, particularly on color
  • No Instant Ink plan is required to print

What you give up

  • We could not read a bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so there is no cost-per-page figure here
  • HP's Dynamic Security history on its cartridge printers is a reason many buyers avoid the brand entirely
  • Sold alongside heavy promotion of HP's subscription plans

Smart Tank is a real tank system: HP rates the 32XL black bottle at about 6,000 pages and the 31 color bottles at about 8,000 each. Being bottle-fed, it is exempt from the cartridge-chip question entirely.

We could not read a confirmed bottle price from HP on the date we checked, so we publish no cost per page for it. That is the finding rather than an omission.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026.

Questions people actually ask

Which printers have refillable ink?

Epson EcoTank, Canon MegaTank and HP Smart Tank. All three replace the cartridge with a reservoir built into the printer, refilled from bottles, which brings the cost per page under a cent and removes the cartridge chip entirely.

What is the best refillable ink printer?

The Epson EcoTank ET-2800 for most households, at about 0.4 of a cent a black page. The Canon MegaTank G3270 if you want the lowest running cost we found and prefer a pigment black for documents.

Can I refill a normal cartridge printer instead?

Physically often yes, and we do not recommend it. The chip still reports levels and may still authenticate, kits are messy, and yields are unknowable — so no honest cost per page can be published for it. A printer designed to be refilled avoids all of that.

Is refillable ink cheaper than cartridges?

By roughly twenty times. A 170 mL Canon GI-21 bottle is rated for 6,000 pages and costs about what one high-yield cartridge does, while published figures put cartridge inkjet printing at about 7.5 cents a page for black.

Do refillable printers have DRM?

No. A bottle contains no electronics, so there is no authentication step and nothing a firmware update can withdraw. It is a structural exemption rather than a brand promise.

Do refillable tank printers clog?

They are inkjets, so the print head can dry if the printer sits unused for long periods. Printing one page every couple of weeks prevents nearly all of it. If you cannot promise that, a mono laser is the better buy.

Sources