Skip to content
Tank & Toner
A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Printers

Epson EcoTank ET-4800: cost to run and who it's for

EcoTank running costs with office hardware attached: a document feeder, wired Ethernet and fax. Worth it only if you need one of the three.

By Ryder M. · Published September 27, 2026

This is the EcoTank for a household that has started to behave like a small business. The ink economics are identical to the cheaper models, so the only question on this page is whether the hardware earns its price.

Cost to run

Epson lists the ET-4800 as taking 522 ink with replacement yields of 4,500 ISO pages black and 7,500 color — the same family as the ET-2400 and ET-2800. At the prices we read, that is about 0.4¢ a black page and 1.1¢ for four-color.

We have deliberately not published a three-year total-cost table for this model, because Epson did not show a list price on the page we read and the printer’s own cost is the dominant term in that sum at household volumes. A total-cost figure built on a price we invented would be worse than no figure.

What the extra hardware actually buys

The document feeder

This is the feature worth the money, and only if you use it. Scanning a ten-page contract on a flatbed means ten lid lifts. Through a feeder it is one action. If you scan or copy multi-page documents even a few times a month, this alone justifies the model.

Wired Ethernet

Underrated. Most household complaints about a shared printer are Wi-Fi complaints wearing a printer costume — the machine drops off the network, somebody power-cycles it, everybody blames the printer. A cable removes the entire failure mode.

Fax

Almost certainly irrelevant, unless a specific institution in your life still insists on it. Some medical and legal offices do. If none of yours does, treat it as a feature you are paying for and will not use.

The duplex question

Epson’s specification page for this model did not state automatic two-sided printing, so we do not claim it either way. If a duplexer is a requirement for you, check the current specification before buying, or look at the ET-3850, which lists a duplexer, a feeder and Ethernet together.

Who should buy something else

  • You scan twice a year. Buy the ET-2800 and pocket the difference. Same ink, same cost per page.
  • Your office printing is black text and lots of it. The Brother DCP-L2640DW is faster, duplexes, has a 50-page feeder, and its toner will not care that you went on holiday. It costs roughly eight times as much per page, and for text-only work at moderate volume that still often comes out ahead.
  • You want a duplexer confirmed on the spec sheet. The ET-3850.
Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Epson EcoTank ET-4800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢Not statedYesnot published
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Brother DCP-L2640DWToner~3.3¢mono onlyYesYes$210

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The home-office EcoTank

Epson EcoTank ET-4800

The ET-2800's running cost with the office hardware bolted on: a document feeder, wired Ethernet and fax. Worth it only if you actually need one of those three.

A neat home office desk with a monitor and a window behind it

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
Not published where we checked on 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
Automatic document feeder
Connectivity
Wireless and Ethernet
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Same 522 ink and therefore the same cost per page as the cheaper EcoTanks
  • Automatic document feeder for multi-page scanning and copying
  • Wired Ethernet, which is more reliable than Wi-Fi for a shared printer

What you give up

  • Epson did not publish a list price on its product page when we checked
  • You pay for the feeder and the fax whether or not you use them
  • Still an inkjet, so it wants occasional use

The ET-4800 is the ET-2800 with the three things a small office actually asks for bolted on: an automatic document feeder, a wired network port, and a fax modem. Because it runs on the same 522 ink, none of that changes what a page costs.

Epson did not publish a list price on the product page we read, which is why there is no sticker figure on this page. We would rather leave a gap than borrow a number from a retailer and call it a list price.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-4800 →

Questions people actually ask

What does the ET-4800 cost per page?

About 0.4 of a cent for black and 1.1 of a cent for four-color, based on Epson 522 bottles at the prices and rated yields we read on 27 September 2026. Identical to the ET-2800 and ET-2400, which use the same ink.

Does the ET-4800 have a document feeder?

Yes. Epson’s specification lists an automatic document feeder, plus Ethernet and fax. That hardware is the entire reason to choose it over the cheaper EcoTanks.

Why is there no list price on this page?

Because Epson did not display one on the product page we read on 27 September 2026. We would rather say that than substitute a retailer price and present it as a manufacturer list price.

Does the ET-4800 require a subscription?

No. Like every EcoTank it is filled from 522 ink bottles bought outright. No plan, no account, no page allowance.

Sources