Skip to content
Tank & Toner
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Compare

Epson EcoTank vs Canon PIXMA

This comparison has two answers, because PIXMA is two product lines wearing one name. Against a cartridge PIXMA, EcoTank wins on cost without an argument. Against a PIXMA MegaTank, it is genuinely close.

By Ryder M. · Published October 11, 2026

Quick picks

Our ranked picks for epson ecotank vs canon pixma, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.

Our ranked picks for epson ecotank vs canon pixma, with the cost per page beside each one. Tap a row to jump to the full write-up.
#ProductBest forCost per pagePrice
1
An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270About 0.3¢ mono and 0.8¢ an ISO color page, $248.99
Cheapest to run~0.3¢
2
A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets
Epson EcoTank ET-2800$239.99, print scan and copy, about 0.4¢ a mono page
Best cheap EcoTank~0.4¢
3
A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Automatic two-sided printing on the cheaper 502 ink, $349.99
Best if you print long documents~0.3¢

#ad — buy links are affiliate links and we may earn a commission at no cost to you. How this site is funded. We do not display live prices, so every button sends you to Amazon’s own page for the current one. Cost-per-page figures are arithmetic on supply prices we read on 27 September 2026 — here is the method.

Against a cartridge PIXMA, an Epson EcoTank is the cheaper printer to own and it is not a close contest: bottles of ink replace chipped cartridges and the cost per page falls by an order of magnitude. Against a PIXMA MegaTank — Canon own refillable line, sold under the same PIXMA name — the comparison is genuinely tight, and on the prices we read Canon GI-21 ink is the cheapest per page of anything on this site.

Is an EcoTank better than a Canon PIXMA?

Yes if the PIXMA is a cartridge model: an EcoTank refills from bottles and costs a fraction as much per page. No clear winner if the PIXMA is a MegaTank, which is also refillable — Canon GI-21 ink is marginally cheaper per page, while Epson offers auto duplex and document feeders further up its range.

PIXMA is two different printers

This is the thing that makes the comparison confusing, and it is Canon naming rather than anybody misunderstanding. PIXMA is the brand across Canon consumer inkjets, and it covers both the traditional cartridge printers sold cheaply at every big-box retailer and the PIXMA MegaTank G-series, which is refillable from bottles in exactly the way an EcoTank is.

So before comparing anything, find out which one is in front of you. If the model number starts with a G and the printer has visible ink reservoirs down one side, it is a MegaTank and it is not the ink trap. If it takes a cartridge with a chip on it, every argument on this site about cartridge economics applies. EcoTank vs cartridge covers that case in full.

EcoTank vs PIXMA MegaTank, on the numbers

Refillable against refillable, on prices read on the dates in our registry
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Epson EcoTank ET-2800Epson EcoTank ET-2850
List price$248.99$239.99$349.99
InkGI-21 bottles522 bottles502 bottles
Mono per page~0.3¢~0.4¢~0.3¢
ISO color per page~0.8¢~1.1¢~1.2¢
Black ink typePigmentNot statedNot stated
Auto duplexNot statedNoYes
Document feederNoNoNo
ScannerFlatbedFlatbedFlatbed

Hardware and ink facts as published by each manufacturer on the specification pages recorded in our registry. Cost per page is our arithmetic - bottle price divided by the manufacturer rated ISO yield. The Canon list price is a retailer listing because Canon own store would not show us a price.

Read down the cost rows and the gap is real but small in absolute terms: on a thousand mono pages the difference between the cheapest Canon and the cheapest Epson here is pennies. Both are roughly a tenth of what a laser costs per page and a tiny fraction of a cartridge printer. The decision is not really about the ink.

What actually decides it

  • Hardware you need. Epson publishes a wider refillable range: auto duplex on the ET-2850, a document feeder and Ethernet on the ET-4800, both plus fax on the ET-4950. If a feeder or a duplexer is on your list, Epson has more models that have it.
  • Pigment or dye black. Canon states a pigment black on the G3270, which smudges less and resists water better on plain paper. That is a genuine advantage for paperwork, labels and anything that gets handled.
  • Bottle availability. Epson 522 and 502 bottles are stocked very widely. GI-21 bottles are less universal. Neither is hard to find online; one is easier to find locally at nine in the evening.
  • Neither brand needs a subscription. Both lines are filled from bottles bought outright, and neither requires an account to print. Brand by brand on subscriptions.

If the PIXMA you are looking at takes cartridges

Then the comparison is over before it starts, and the reason is structural rather than a criticism of Canon. A cartridge printer is sold cheap and earns its margin on supplies; a refillable printer is sold dearer and earns nothing afterwards. We do not publish a cost per page for Canon cartridge PIXMA models because we have not priced those cartridges from a source we can cite — but the published cartridge yields in that class are measured in hundreds of pages, against 6,000 pages for a single GI-21 black bottle.

Three years at 100 pages a month is $11 of ink on the MegaTank. That is the number to hold up against any cartridge printer you are considering, whoever makes it. What printer ink actually costs.

The verdict

Buy the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 if you want the lowest running cost available and can live without a duplexer or a feeder. Buy an Epson EcoTank if you want a refillable printer with office hardware attached — and buy the ET-2850 rather than the ET-2800 if you print anything longer than a page, because the duplexer saves more in paper than the ink difference between the two brands amounts to. The three-way comparison puts HP in the picture as well.

Specifications and running costs side by side, for the printers discussed on this page.
PrinterSupply typeMono per pageColor per pageAuto duplexFeederList price
Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270Ink bottles~0.3¢~0.8¢Not statedNo$249
Epson EcoTank ET-2800Ink bottles~0.4¢~1.1¢NoNo$240
Epson EcoTank ET-2850Ink bottles~0.3¢~1.2¢YesNo$350

Cost-per-page figures are our own arithmetic: supply price divided by the manufacturer’s rated page yield, using prices read on 27 September 2026 and yields rated at the ISO 5% coverage standard. They are not measured by us and they are not current prices. Every input, and the working · run the numbers for your own printing

The picks in detail

Cheapest to run

Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270

The cheapest cost per page of any printer we cover, and the pigment black is the reason to pick it over an EcoTank if your prints get handled.

An open inkjet printer with its color ink reservoirs visible

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~0.8¢ per color page

Based on a Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle rated at 6,000 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Canon GI-21 pigment black ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $17.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026
  • Canon GI-21 color ink bottle — rated 7,700 pages (ISO/IEC 24712 (Canon default print mode)), $12.99 at Target, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$248.99 at Office Depot, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Not stated on the spec page we read
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Lowest cost per page of any model on this site, mono and color
  • Pigment black ink smudges less on plain paper
  • Large 170 mL bottles, so refills are infrequent

What you give up

  • Canon's own store would not show us a price, so ours is a retailer listing
  • No document feeder
  • Canon's headline yields assume its default print mode, not draft mode

If the comparison is EcoTank against a PIXMA MegaTank, Canon wins the running-cost column. The GI-21 bottles work out at roughly 0.3 of a cent a mono page and about 0.8 cents an ISO color page on the prices we read — the lowest figures on this site, and lower than any Epson bottle family we have priced.

Canon publishes a pigment black, which resists water better than a dye black on plain paper, a flatbed scanner and wireless, at a $248.99 retail listing. No document feeder, and Canon did not state automatic duplexing on the specification we read.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Canon PIXMA MegaTank G3270 →

Best cheap EcoTank

Epson EcoTank ET-2800

The cheapest way to get genuinely low-cost color printing at home, as long as you can live without an auto duplexer or a document feeder.

A person using a home inkjet printer at a desk beside printed sheets

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.4¢ per mono page · ~1.1¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 522 black ink bottle rated at 4,500 pages at $17.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 522 black ink bottle — rated 4,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 522 color ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $17.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$239.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Manual only
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Among the lowest cost per page of any printer sold for home use
  • Refillable bottles, so no chipped cartridge can be locked out by firmware
  • Comes with enough ink in the box to last most households a long time

What you give up

  • No automatic two-sided printing, so paper costs twice what it needs to
  • Flatbed scanner only - no document feeder for multi-page scans
  • Inkjets still need to be used occasionally or the print head can clog

Epson answer at the same end of the market: $239.99 at list for a refillable all-in-one that prints, scans and copies over wireless on 522 bottles, at about 0.4 of a cent a mono page and 1.1 cents an ISO color page.

Fractionally dearer per page than the Canon and ten dollars cheaper to buy, with the same omissions — no auto duplexer, no feeder. The honest reason to pick it over the MegaTank is the supply chain: Epson 522 and 502 bottles are stocked practically everywhere.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2800 →

Best if you print long documents

Epson EcoTank ET-2850

The auto duplexer is the reason to pay the difference over an ET-2800: it halves your paper bill on anything longer than a page.

A hand lifting sheets of plain paper beside a printer while working from home

Illustrative photograph of this kind of printer. We do not have this model in hand and this is not a photograph of the unit.

Check price on Amazon

#ad — we may earn a commission. How this site is funded. We do not show live prices; Amazon’s page is the price of record.

~0.3¢ per mono page · ~1.2¢ per color page

Based on a Epson 502 black ink bottle rated at 7,500 pages at $24.99, priced on 27 September 2026.

The color figure adds one per-page cost for each of the three color channels, because an ISO color page draws from all of them.

  • Epson 502 black ink bottle — rated 7,500 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $24.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
  • Epson 502 color ink bottle — rated 6,000 pages (ISO/IEC 24712), $16.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026

Yields are manufacturer-rated at the ISO 5% page-coverage standard, not measured by us, and real-world cost runs higher. Prices are not live: this is arithmetic on a price we read on the date shown, not a current price. How we calculate cost per page.

List price
$349.99 at Epson US, checked 27 September 2026
Supply type
Refillable ink bottles
Two-sided printing
Automatic
Document feeder
None
Connectivity
Wireless
Subscription
None required

What we like

  • Automatic two-sided printing, which the ET-2800 and ET-2400 lack
  • Uses 502 ink, whose black bottle is rated higher than the 522 black
  • Lowest cost per mono page of the EcoTanks we cover

What you give up

  • Noticeably dearer than the ET-2800 at list price
  • Still no document feeder
  • 502 color bottles are rated lower than 522 color, so heavy color use narrows the gap

The feature neither cheap Canon nor the cheap EcoTanks publish: automatic two-sided printing. On anything longer than a page that halves the paper bill, and paper is a larger line item than ink on a tank printer.

$349.99 at list on Epson 502 ink — about 0.3 of a cent a mono page and 1.2 cents an ISO color page, with a black bottle rated at 7,500 pages.

Specifications read from the manufacturer’s own product page on 27 September 2026. Full cost-to-run breakdown for the Epson EcoTank ET-2850 →

Questions people actually ask

Which is better, Epson EcoTank or Canon PIXMA?

EcoTank against a cartridge PIXMA, every time, on cost per page. Against a Canon PIXMA MegaTank it is close: Canon GI-21 ink is marginally the cheaper per page, Epson has more refillable models with duplexers and feeders.

Is a Canon PIXMA MegaTank the same as an EcoTank?

The same idea by a different name: refillable ink reservoirs filled from bottles rather than chipped cartridges. EcoTank is Epson name for it, MegaTank is Canon.

Is Canon ink cheaper than Epson ink?

On the bottles we priced, yes, slightly: Canon GI-21 works out at about 0.3 of a cent a mono page against 0.4 for Epson 522 and 0.3 for Epson 502. The difference is pennies per hundred pages.

Do Canon PIXMA printers need a subscription?

No. Neither the cartridge PIXMA models nor the MegaTank line require a subscription to print. Supplies are bought outright.

Which has better print quality?

We have no units in hand and do not publish print-quality verdicts we cannot support. What the specifications support: Canon states a pigment black, which is more water-resistant on plain paper, and Epson six-color ET-8550 is the only model we cover built specifically for photographs.

Sources